The restoration of interiors of the Home Church of the Protection of the Mother of God is one of the most ambitious megaprojects the Yusupov Palace has undertaken in recent years. When the works commenced in 2005, nothing in the conventional interiors of the lecture hall reminded of a church.

In 1878, Prince Nicholas Yusupov Jr. hired the architect V. Kanel to build a home church in the Yusupov family Palace on the Moika River. The project also encompassed a renovation of the Living quarters of his daughter, Princess Zinaida Nikolayevna, and remodeling of the mansion. The Church was designed in the popular at that time Byzantine style.

The Church witnessed all the significant events in the lives of the Princes Yusupov: Marriage of Princess Zinaida Nikolayevna Yusupova and count Felix Felixovich Sumarokov-Elston on April 4, 1882. The baptism of their son Felix, five years later. The baptism of the daughter of Felix Yusupov, Irina, attended by the Emperor Nicholas II and his mother Maria Feodorovna.

The Home Church of the Yusupov Palace on the Moika River operated till 1917. Then, though the building was not used for serves, its interiors remained unaltered for seven more years. In 1926, the Church was officially closed. In the 1930s, it underwent a major renovation and was converted into a lecture hall.

An extensive restoration of the Church began in 2005. Throughout these years, the staff of the Yusupov Palace and restoration specialists managed to bring back to life the architectural aspect and iconostasis of the Church. Today, the restoration of the narthex featuring an oak staircase has been fully finished.

The restoration of interiors of the Home Church of the Protection of the Mother of God is one of the most ambitious megaprojects the Yusupov Palace has undertaken in recent years.

In 2015, through the commitment of the museum staff and personnel of Building Trest JSC, the restoration of the beautiful murals comprising the inner walls of the Home Church came to completion. Lack of archival materials rendered the restoration works particularly challenging. Staff of the Yusupov Palace working hand in hand with restorers developed design drawings of murals. As required by the canons of the Orthodox Church, the ceiling of the dome now bears the images of twelve apostles and four evangelists. The murals on the wall behind the alter have also been restored. The polychrome decorations of the walls were designed based on the small authentic fragments of painting discovered in the Church during the pre-restoration works.

On December 21, 2014, Metropolitan Varsonofy of St. Petersburg and Ladoga celebrated the Divine Liturgy in the Home Church of the Protection of the Mother of God in the Yusupov Palace, at 94 Moika River Embankment. The Ruling Bishop also performed the lesser consecration of the Church.

 

Currently, the Protection of the Mother of God Church is open every Wednesday. Free access is rendered to anybody wishing to attend church service.
Service begins at 10.00, on Wednesday.
The Church is open for the celebration of baptism and matrimony sacraments.

To get more info about the sacraments of baptism and matrimony, please contact us:
Tel. +7 (812) 314 8690, dogovor@yusupov-palace.ru

Воссоздание интерьера домовой церкви Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы - один из самых амбиционных и крупномасштабных проектов Юсуповского Дворца за последние годы. Еще в 2005 году, когда началась работа по возрождению Домовой церкви, ни одна деталь внутренней отделки обычного лекционного зала не напоминала о том, что на его месте когда-то был храм.

В 1878 году архитектор В.А. Кенель был привлечен князем Н.Б. Юсуповым-младшим для постройки домовой церкви дворца на набережной Мойки, 94, а также для перестройки жилых покоев дочери-княжны Зинаиды Николаевны и работ на усадьбе. Церковь была спроектирована в модном тогда византийском стиле.

В церкви проходили все значимые события семьи князей Юсуповых: 4-го апреля 1882 года здесь венчались княжна Зинаида Николаевна Юсупова и граф Феликс Феликсович Сумароков – Эльстон. Пять лет спустя здесь же крестили их сына Феликса. В 1915 году на крещении дочери Феликса Юсупова – Ирины, присутствовал император Николай II вместе с матерью Марией Федоровной.

Домовая церковь в Юсуповском дворце на Мойке действовала до 1917 года, в течение еще семи лет в ней сохранялись прежняя церковная обстановка. В 1926 году церковь прекратила свое существование, в 1930-х годах помещение было полностью перестроено и превращено в лекционный зал.

Масштабные работы по воссозданию церкви начались в 2005. За эти годы сотрудникам Юсуповского дворца и реставраторам удалось восстановить архитектурный облик церкви и иконостас, завершить устройство притвора Церкви с дубовой лестницей.

Воссоздание интерьера домовой церкви Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы - один из самых амбиционных и крупномасштабных проектов Юсуповского Дворца за последние годы.

В 2015 году при поддержке ЗАО «Строительный Трест» были завершены работы по воссозданию живописных росписей в интерьере Домовой церкви. Работа была осложнена практически полным отсутствием архивных материалов. На основании скудных исторических материалов сотрудниками Юосуповского дворца совместно с реставраторами был разработан проект живописной отделки. В соответствии с канонами православной церкви внутри купольного пространства появились изображения двенадцати апостолов, а ниже - четыре евангелиста. Восстановлена живопись Заалтарного пространства. Полихромная роспись стен выполнена на основе небольших исторических фрагментов, найденных при расчистках.

21 декабря 2014 митрополит Санкт-Петербургский и Ладожский Варсонофий возглавил Божественную литургию в домовом храме Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы в Юсуповском Дворце на Мойке, 94. Правящий архиерей совершил чин малого освящения храма.

 

В настоящее время церковь в церкви Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы каждый вторник проходят богослужения, которые могут посетить все желающие.
Начало богослужения: 10.00. Каждую среду.
Церковь открыта и для проведения церковных таинств крещения и венчания.

Более подробная информация по вопросам организации таинств крещения и венчания:
Тел. +7 (812) 314 86 90, dogovor@yusupov-palace.ru